Filmologic's Blog

October 12, 2009

Review: The Lord of the Rings Trilogy

Filed under: Action,Adventure,Fantasy,Reviews — filmologic @ 3:42 pm
Tags: , , ,

Director: Peter Jackson
Writers: J.R.R Tolkien( Novel );Fran Walsh( Screenplay )
Genre: Action/Adventure/Fantasy
Release Date: 19 December 2001

Lord of the Rings

Lord of the Rings

For a very long time,  I never watched Lord of the Rings. I was never so fascinated by the film at the first look. Fortunately the last weekend I was browsing through some movies and happened to stumble upon Lord of Rings. I must confess that I feel that this film should be watched on a Big screen and not on a DVD. I really missed the opportunity of watching this film on the big screen. Well to be very frank – I loved it! I loved it so much that I was forced to watch the whole series. If anyone of you have not watched this movie, make sure you rent/buy all the 3 DVDs at once and watch it in series over a weekend. I know that it may be too much of sitting as each movie is around 3 hours long.

The first part Fellowship of the Rings is more focussed on the building of the different characters in the movie.  One may feel that it is a bit slow, but believe me it is worth it. You will surely enjoy each and every moment of the movie. The movie is about a Ring.. and how a few brave guys take up a great overwhelming journey of their lives. The second and the third part are a continuation to the journey of the Fellowship. I do not want to disclose any more secrets of the movie for my dear friends who have not watched it or some of them who may have forgotten the movie and would like to watch it again!!

I loved the part played by Sean Astin as ‘Sam’. It was a role which required to be humorous, serious, friendly and fearsome. It was perfectly played by Sean Astin. Orlando Bloom was good as ‘Legolas Greenleaf’. Well I can go with the whole list of cast, but everyone played a perfect role.

I must say that this is my first Peter Jackson movie and I loved the way he has placed each part of the movie to perfection. The movie has small beautiful moments of friendships which really light up the whole scene. The movie perfectly describes the way battles took place. The action sequences were great and a treat to watch. Being a great action movie fan, I would put the Action of this movie among the very best. The movie has extraordinary special effects and a great screenplay. With Lord of the Rings being a very huge book in itself, it is a perfect masterpiece by Peter Jackson to recreate it on the silver screen. There are so many fantasy adaptions which fail to live up to the expectations of the readers, but Lord of the rings almost manages to reach it.

There is so much about this movie to be told but no review can explain the journey through The Lord of the Rings. A must watch for everyone!

Rating: 9/10


Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

